Fig the Fruit of Enlightenment

Family Traditions 032

Family Traditions 031

I love Fall. I love change of season. Recently it has been unseasonably warm and I love that too. My father has been cleaning up the garden and picking the remaining vegetables and fruit. The fig tree gave us this.

20131008_112949

Everyone who knows anything about figs, know that they thrive in very warm climates. In Calabria, my family enjoyed the abundance of figs and according to anyone who has tasted a fig in Italy; it’s like nothing you ever tasted! These are a close second.

October is special month for me and my parents. They just celebrated 50 years in marriage. I’ll celebrate 6. Our wedding cake was decorated with figs, a special gift from our baker.

In Buddhist philosophy the fig tree has a sacred meaning for Buddhists. “According to Buddhist legend, the founder of the religion, Siddhartha Gautama or the Buddha, achieved enlightenment one day  while sitting under a bo tree, a kind of fig tree.”

I’d imagine many Italians have experienced “Enlightenment” sitting under a fig tree. It may not be how Buddha did but nonetheless a profound sense of life and peace just sitting under a fig tree.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

