Italian Rum Cake

April and May are busy months for birthday within my family and circle of friends. So you can imagine how many parties and cakes we eat in these two months. Today you can find about a thousand different types of cakes to celebrate with. The usual chocolate and vanilla are standards. Red Velvet, Orange blossom, Oreo, not so standard but very popular.

 

Image 

But what about the good old fashion Italian Rum Cake? As a kid that’s all we ever had. I don’t particularly remember liking it, however, it became a staple at every birthday. Imagine 4 and 5 year olds gathered around a rum cake when all our American friends would boast about fudgy chocolate cakes with cartoon characters on top. The most we got out of a decorative cake was three or four roses and almond coating around the cake.

When we got old enough to start ordering our own type, chocolate or vanilla became our choice of cakes.

This past weekend we celebrated my cousin Chicky’s 40th birthday. Over 70 people attended a fun party at a chinese restaurant. (yes- chinese) What Italian doesn’t like Chinese food??? – save that for another time.

My cousin is probably the only one of all the cousins who really enjoys Italian Rum Cake. As I grew older I learned to appreciate the exciting flavors of an Italian Rum Cake again; filled with creamy chocolate and vanilla cream, bits of peaches and strawberries in between two layers of soaked rum (sugar) spongy cake.

Image

Photo of Italian Rum Cake from Modern Pastry, Boston, (North End)

I laugh everytime birthdays come around and the conversations I have with my cousin over what kind of cake are we having tonight!

My birthday is coming up in May – I’ll have a choice of different cakes of course, but it will be tough — maybe I’ll just go old school and order an Italian Rum Cake… you really can’t go wrong with that!

Tagged: , , ,

6 thoughts on “Italian Rum Cake

  1. N- Big April 28, 2012 at 10:48 am Reply

    LIKE !!! this is one of the best ones.. FYI my Godson is not a fan of Italian cake he like’s English cake he says..

  2. […] I limit my posts to weekly but I had to share this post as it relates to a past post Italian Rum Cake. […]

  3. John May 28, 2012 at 1:30 pm Reply

    There is nothing like a good old fashion Italian Rum Cake if it is made the right way

  4. Gemma January 4, 2013 at 12:51 pm Reply

    Mmmmm looks good! I make tiramisu with rum but never tried more than that. Could you send the receipt please. I am Italian but living in London. Baci

    • Everyone Wants to Be Italian January 4, 2013 at 2:38 pm Reply

      Hi Gemma,

      Thank you for posting! I do not have a recipe for rum cake – I’ve only bought it from a store – I imagine how tasty it is homemade, however, I will research and ask around. If I find a good recipe I will share with you!

      Lisa

Leave a Reply

